This website places cookies on your computer (more info...). By continuing to use this website you are consenting to these cookies.

Meet the Governors

St Peter's Governing Body

Our governors are representatives of the local community, parents, staff and the church. They bring a range of interests, knowledge and skills. They are responsible for overseeing the organisation, curriculum and budget of the school and offering support. The governing body supports the school in achieving educational excellence whilst still maintaining a strong Catholic ethos.

The day-to-day running of the school, however, is entrusted to the head teacher and staff.

The governing body plays a crucial part in improving and developing the school and in helping every child to achieve their potential. The three key roles for governors are:

  • to provide the strategic overview
  • to act as a critical friend
  • to be accountable

The full governing body meets every term and is open to all parents and staff. To carry out its many duties, the governing body is divided into smaller working parties or committees. These meet as necessary and include:

  • Teaching and Learning Committee
  • Finance, Premises and Personnel Committee 

They then report back and make recommendations to the full governing body. Committees and working parties play a key role in the strategic management of the school and joining at least one of them is an essential part of being a school governor.  The school encourages governors to visit to familiarise themselves with the work of the school in order to keep the full governing body up to date.

                   Craig McGuire: Chair                                        Therese McGonagle: Vice-chair


               Ellen Robertson: Teacher Governor                            Peter Cleak: Parent Governor

            Jennifer Ude: Clerk to the Governors                  Margaret Falvey: Head teacher Governor

            Emer Hughes: Foundation Governor                            

            Eileen Mc Namara: Foundation Governor           Barry Wynne: Parent Governor

            Fr. Sean Carroll: Foundation Governor               Emma Jones: Link Governor

            Barbara Seiberl: Foundation Governor               Isobel McCarroll: Foundation Governor            

Copyright © St Peter-in-Chains RC : Website Policy Website design for primary schools, by

Log in Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional